Construction Will Continue Until Demand Improves

Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for the title. Fortunately, though, it’s from Dubaiwalla, whom everyone should read.

The half-mile-tall Burj Dubai opened to the public today, and while I tend to treat Dubai as my personal rage ATM, delivering targets for my ire in a breathtakingly efficient and regular manner, I’m just not feeling it today. Maybe this means I’ll be less mad about it in the New Year – new decade? – or maybe I’m just plumb tuckered out.

Right now I mostly find interest in the building – which is so tall that, if you open the airlocks at the top and bottom simultaneously, it would generate a terrific windstorm that would destroy everything inside – for its design aesthetics. It clearly takes cues from Frank Lloyd Wright’s “taproot” building, and seems like it would be a fantastic template for a Two Mile Tower I’ve long dreamed of rising a full mile above mile-high Denver, Colorado.

Of course, that’s unlikely to happen, because no one in Denver is ever likely to have the hubris, monomania, or intense magical thinking of the powers that be in Dubai.

~ by J.D. Hammond on January 4, 2010.

One Response to “Construction Will Continue Until Demand Improves”

  1. Neighbor J.D.,

    Great, impressive blog.

Leave a Reply

 
