Other Burning Things

Since we’re on the subject of rebooting Hampton Roads transportation policy, I noticed HRT’s new long-range plan and was intrigued by its similarity, however superficial, to my undergraduate thesis on the subject.

It involves a deep-bore rail crossing across the harbor, which I think is a bit far-fetched, and some things are LRT that I’d make BRT (like the I-64 HOV lanes) and other things are BRT that I’d make automated LRT (like service from northern Suffolk to Little Creek via downtown Norfolk and Portsmouth), but most of the priority corridors and enhanced ferry offerings are there.

So I’m not sure whether it really means anything at all, honestly, but I’ve decided I’m kind of flattered.

~ by J.D. Hammond on December 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
